While Rowdy is away, the regulars will play         

The WinStar World Casion 400 from Texas Motor Speedway was 167 lap events for the trucks. The good thing about this was the Sprint Cup drivers were in Pocono and unable to race in the truck race. That didn’t stop someone from stepping up and dominating the race sapping all the fun out of it though.

While Justin Lofton would win the pole, Matt Crafton proved these runner-ups to Kyle Busch could translate to wins as he’d dominate by leading 118 laps. Ryan Blaney would step up to lead 45 laps while Johnny Sauter led 2. Shout out to Joe Nemecheck for finishing third!

The Top 5 were: 1st Matt Crafton, 2nd Justin Lofton, 3rd Joe Nemecheck, 4th Ryan Blaney, and 5th John Wes Townley.

Matt Crafton holds the points lead, a slim one as it has been all year leads 11 points over teammate Johnny Sauter.

The next race is the Divin’ for Linemen 200 from Gateway Motorsports Park from Madison, Illinois will come to us live on Fox Sports 1. The race will air on Saturday Night, June 14th at 8:30 PM on Fox Sports 1. This is the first time the trucks have returned to Gateway in three years.

Carpenter heals some of wound from Indy crash with Texas win

There are very few duplicate feelings in racing as the feeling of winning the Indianapolis 500. Possibly there are none that as sweet. The only two races equal to that level would be the Daytona 500 of NASCAR and the Grand Prix of Monaco in Formula One. For Verizon IndyCar drivers it is Indy and the Yard of Bricks.

Ed Carpenter knows that more than most being a native Hoosier. So to crash out before the finish of the 2014 Indy 500 placed him in a horrible funk. While one cannot heal fully the wound of missing out on such a win, you can at least let it scab over some. Carpenter did that at Texas.

The Firestone 600 from Texas Motor Speedway was a 248 lap event at incredible speeds around that track. Team Penske has been a dominate force there for quite some time and would continue. Will Power set a blistering speed in qualifying and would lead a race high 145 laps.

However, Carpenter would take over for 90 laps which included the final 34 in route to victory. This year, Carpenter has a special situation with the ride split with driver Mike Conway. Conway runs the road courses while Carpenter handles the ovals. So far so good it seems.

The Top 5 were: 1st Ed Carpenter, 2nd Will Power, 3rd Juan Pablo Montoya, 4th Simon Pagenaud, and 5th Scott Dixon.

Points Will Power now leads teammate Helio Castroneves by 39 points.

The IndyCar drivers will be off for the next two weeks.

Brad’s loss equals Junior’s gain

I specifically choose this picture for a reason. This is the exact second when we saw a crime committed. But we’ll get to that in a moment. The Pocono 400 saw pole sitter Denny Hamlin, who won in his rookie season here try and return to dominance there.

However, such would not be the case as he’d only lead for 4 laps. The driver who started third though would be the one to step up and dominate. Brad Keselowski would lead race high 95 of 160 laps and looked to be the unbeatable car in the final laps. Also playing into this was the fuel strategy. Two cars were on a vastly different strategy then others and proved it to be the key.

The other car was Dale Earnhardt Jr. and the 88 team. In the final 60 laps, the 2 and 88 broke up the pit stops in a one stop race. Both drivers held off various assaults from other cars on restarts as they battled it between them. Brad would even get out to seven tenths of a second lead. Then it all changed.

Coming to 9 to go Brad picked up a huge piece of trash on his grill. Over the radio Brad began commenting the car’s engine was becoming hotter and hotter. Coming up lap car Danica Patrick with five to, Brad dipped in behind her and pulled out in hopes the trash would come off. However, Danica wasn’t aware and tried to get out of the leader’s way.

This broke all of Brad’s momentum and Dale Jr. flew by the 2 car and never looked back. This was the moment when Dale Jr. stole the win from Brad Keselowski. And as a Dale Jr. fan it was freaking awesome…and I’m sure I’ll pay for this dearly in some form or fashion. As for Brad and his engine, worries would prove fruitless as he’d finish the race.

The Top 5 were: 1st Dale Earnhardt Jr., 2nd Brad Keselowski, 3rd Kurt Busch, 4th Denny Hamlin, and 5th Kyle Larson. No, not a typo it was Kyle Larson!

Winners all but guaranteed a spot in the 2014 Chase are as follows. Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, and Dale Earnhardt Jr. are now tied at two wins per driver. The following drivers have one a piece: Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin, and Jeff Gordon.

The next race is the Quicken Loans 400 from Michigan International Speedway. The race will air on Sunday, June 15th at 1:00 PM on TNT. The defending race winner is Greg Biffle.


The Nationwide series returns to us from Michigan International Speedway with the Ollie’s Bargin Outlet 250. The race airs at 2:00 PM on Saturday, June 14th on ESPN. The defending race winner is Regan Smith.

Random Sports/Non Sports thought:

Where are said beer and slippers?

Have a question, suggestion or witty comment? Feel free to leave one below! Don’t want to do that? Then the fastest, easiest, and quickest way to interact with me is on Twitter, @tpierc07. I also am on Facebook, but that one you have to work for. Don’t do social media? Then feel free to e-mail me at tpierc07@yahoo.com!

Tyler Pierce