Hamlin keeps streak, Johnson may be starting next.

Matt Kenseth sat 28 points behind Jimmie Johnson coming into the Ford Ecoboost 400. He would need to win the pole, lead the most laps, win the race and still hope Johnson had major mechanical problems. He would only get two out of four. Kenseth would win the pole and lead the most laps at 144. However, he would finish second.

Denny Hamlin has had beyond a shadow of a doubt the worst year of his career. He missed the chase, along with multiple races due to his back injury. He also had a streak on the line. Since entering the Sprint Cup series, Denny has won a race every season. His final attempt would prove fruitful as Denny led 72 laps and would win the Ford Ecoboost 400.

Jimmie Johnson would also not have the bad luck Kenseth needed. Johnson would finish 9th to claim his sixth Sprint Cup Championship.

The Top 5 were: 1st Denny Hamlin, 2nd Matt Kenseth, 3rd Dale Earnhardt Jr., 4th Martin Truex Jr., and 5th Clint Bowyer.

The Final Chase for the Sprint Cups are:

1.  Jimmie Johnson would finish with 2419 points.

2. Matt Kenseth (-19)

3. Kevin Harvick (-34)

4. Kyle Busch (-55)

5. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-56)

6. Jeff Gordon (-82)

7. Clint Bowyer (-83)

8. Joey Logano (-96)

9. Greg Biffle (-98)

10. Kurt Busch (-110)

11. Ryan Newman (-133)

12. Kasey Kahne (-136)

13. Carl Edwards (-137)

Jeff Gordon and Rick Hendrick would win the Owner’s Championship in the Sprint Cup seires.

Brad K takes it for Ford, Chevy driver Dillon wins title

Sam Hornish Jr. came to Homestead Miami with an 8 point deficit to make up. He would start out by making up that deficit by winning the pole for the Ford Ecoboost 300. He would then tie with Joey Logano for second most laps led. Kyle Larson would lead the most at 54.

The problem was, he needed to finish with distance between himself and points leader Austin Dillon. He also needed to win. He would get neither as Sam would finish 8th, and Austin 12th. It would give Austin the chance he needed to win the driver’s championship.

The owner’s champion was an even tighter race between the 54 of Joe Gibbs Racing and the 22 of Penske Racing. Both cars would lead laps, with neither leading the most that combined with position allowed the 54 to cut into the lead, but the 22 would hold on to win the owner’s title.

The Top 5 were: Brad Keselowski, 2nd Kyle Larson, 3rd Kyle Busch, 4th Matt Kenseth, and 5th Trevor Bayne.

Dillon would beat Hornish Jr. for the title by 3 points. The 22 of Penske would win the owner’s title by a single point.

Next race and previous winner:

Busch’s win seals Owner’s title, Crafton not abducted by Aliens to win title

Ryan Blaney wanted to steak his claim to be the Rookie of the Year for 2013. With an amazing season, he attempted to put one more exclamation mark on it. Blaney won the Ford Ecoboost 200 pole and would lead the most laps at 67.

The other honor up for grabs was the driver’s championship. The only way Crafton wouldn’t win would be if he was abducted by aliens. He was not, and his truck started the race, clinching the championship before the green flag.

The final honor was for the owner’s championship. ThorSports Racing came in with an 18 point lead over Kyle Busch Motorsports. However, a late race accident stopped Crafton from sweeping both championships for his team.  The other hindrance? Kyle Busch driving the contending truck to lead 62 laps and win the race, thus giving the title to them.

The Top 5 were: 1st Kyle Busch, 2nd Ryan Blaney, 3rd Jeb Burton, 4th Brendan Gaughan, and 5th Ron Hornaday Jr.  

Crafton would defeat Ty Dillon by 40 points. Kyle Busch Motorsports would win the owner’s title by tiebreaker.

Vettel won

Sebastian Vettel would continue his dominance as Formula One traveled to the United States. The Circuits of the Americas would be won by Vettel with ease as he cements his reason for having won the championship so early. Nothing else to tell really.

The Top 5 were 1st Sebastian Vettel, 2nd Romain Grosjean, 3rd Mark Webber, 4th Lewis Hamilton, and 5th Fernando Alonso.  

The final race will come to us live at 11:00 AM on NBC on Sunday, November 24th from Sao Paulo, Brazil for the Grande Premio Do Brasil. The previous race winner is Jensen Button.

In random news:

Daniel Knost will be the crew chief for Kurt Busch when he moves to the 41 for Stewart-Haas Racing. This is a promotion for Knost as he was a race engineer on the 39. This was one of many changes at SHR. Greg Zipadelli moved from competition director to Vice President of competition. Matt Borland will move of the pit box again and become Vice President of engineering. Rodney Childers as announced is taking over the 39 as it turns into the 4 for Kevin Harvick. Tony Gibson will be the only constant as he will remain with Danica Patrick.

Steve Addington is rumored to be heading the 51.

Mike Kelly, who was the crew chief for Ricky Stenhouse Jr. when he won back to back Nationwide titles, will reunite next year with the driver. Ricky’s crew chief Scott Graves will swop places with Kelly and crew chief for Trevor Bayne next season.

Jamie McMurray also got a new crew chief. Keith Rodden who was the engineer on the 5 team for Kasey Kahne will replace Kevin “Bono” Manion. Manion is rumored to be accepting a management position at Turner-Scott Motorsports.

Sam Hornish Jr. and Penske Racing after a decade together have parted ways. Hornish at the awards banquet hinted he has a plan to stay in NASCAR.

Mark Martin will have an unspecified role at Stewart-Haas Racing. Some of said he may be a driver coach to Danica Patrick.

Sports Clips will once again return to the 11 of Denny Hamlin and Joe Gibbs Racing. They will be on board for nine races.

During the Ford Ecoboost 400, Paul Menard’s right rear tire seemed to catch on fire and explode. Richard Childress Racing and NASCAR are looking into what exactly happened. Upon investigating the car it was found the entire rear hub was gone.

Carlos Munoz will join Andretti Autosport for 2014. Sponsorship will be announced later.

Ganassi is considering moving Tony Kanaan from the 8 to the 10 seat vacated by Dario Franchitti retiring due to injuries. Ganassi is going with four cars, which leaves a open seat.

KVSH Racing signed Mistic Electronic Cigarettes. It’s a two year deal for seven races in the first year.

Random Sports/Non Sports Thought:

Been a crazy couple of days here in the Mid-West, Sunday all hell broke loose weather wise. This led to me losing electric Sunday evening, and not getting it back until late Monday Afternoon. Here is hoping everyone came out okay, and thoughts to those were lost family members.

Have a question, suggestion or witty comment? Feel free to leave one below! Don’t want to do that? Then the fastest, easiest, and quickest way to interact with me is on Twitter, @tpierc07. I also am on Facebook, but that one you have to work for. Don’t do social media? Then feel free to e-mail me at tpierc07@yahoo.com!

Make sure to come back on Monday where I will recap the final F-1 race and recapping the full Formula One year! Until then, I’ll be waiting for you in the right hand turns in Brazil!

Tyler Pierce