Another truck race, another truck win for Busch.

It was business as usual in the truck series for Kyle Busch on Thursday Night. The UnOh 225 at Kentucky Speedway was the start of a triple weekend for Kyle and Brad Keselowski. Kyle would start as he normally does by winning the pole for the truck event. He’d then follow by leading 91 laps, a race high, and do so four different times.

Brad Keselowski would lead 22 laps and would be in contention until a wrench would be left on his truck and he’d receive a pit road penalty for equipment leaving the pit box. I have got to give credit to the crewman on Brad’s team. That guy held onto that wrench for a good couple of pit stalls before he finally fell off the truck.

Kyle would lead the final 54 laps on his way to victory

The Top 5 were: 1st Kyle Busch, 2nd Darrell Wallace Jr., 3rd Ryan Blaney, 4th Timothy Peters and 5th Brad Keselowski.

Johnny Sauter still leads the points of teammate Matt Crafton by 8 points. However, third place is closing in as Timothy Peters has tightened up behind the leader to 11 points.

The Camping World Truck Series is off for the next couple of weekends.

Harvick and JRM steal a win from Brad Keselowski.

The John R. Elliot Hero Campaign 300 Presented by Drive Sober Or Get Pulled Over (WHO NAMES THESE FREAKING RACES?!) pole was won by Brad Keselowski, who along with Kyle Busch was on his second race of the weekend on Friday Night. He’d also lead a race high 138 of 200 laps of the event.

The problem was similar to the night before. Brad would suffer a pit road penalty, this time for speeding. This would hand the lead to Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch who would lead 14 and 38 laps respectively in the final 52 laps of the event.

The race would have a late green flag restart that would allow Kevin to take advantage of Kyle and take the lead with Brad charging head from behind to make up for the loss ground. While the series regulars would only combine to lead 6 laps, the points battle changed hands thanks to a spin by Regan Smith that damaged his car and put him multiple laps down.

The Top 5 were: 1st Kevin Harvick, 2nd Brad Keselowski, 3rd Kyle Busch, 4th Paul Menard and 5th Ryan Blaney.

Elliot Sadler now leads the JRM duo in the points. Chase Elliot is 4 points back now in second and Regan Smith is now in third, 8 points back.

The next race is the Subway Firecracker 250 from Daytona International Raceway. The race will air live on Friday, July 4th at 7:30 PM on ESPN2. The previous race winner is Matt Kenseth.

Rookie Huertas wins Race 1 of Houston

Simon Pagenaud won the pole for the Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston Race won and led the first four laps and then never led again. In what would be a crazy fuel mileage race, James Hinchcliffe would lead a race high 32 of 80 laps in the event. However, Carlos Huertas would come from an 19th place starting spot to take the lead with seven laps to go.

Huertas would hold on to win and Columbia would make a clean sweep of the podium as Juan Pablo Montoya and Carlos Munoz would finish 2nd and 3rd.

The Top 5 were: 1st Carlos Huertas, 2nd Juan Pablo Montoya, 3rd Carlos Munoz, 4th Sebastien Bourdais, and 5th James Hinchcliffe.

Will Power would leave Race 1 with the points lead by 33 points over teammate Helio Castroneves.

Keselowski finally wins a race while delivering an ass whopping to do it

The Quaker state 400 from Kentucky Speedway was a different Sprint Cup race for two different reasons. Firstly, the Sprint Cup race only had 42 starting cars for the since time since I believe it was 1997. The second factor that made this race so different was the out and out domination by Brad Keselowski.

Brad would lead a staggering 199 of 267 laps and his teammate Joey Logano would lead 37 laps bringing the Team Penske total to a whopping 236 laps. The only driver to lead a lap beside a Penske ford was Kyle Busch would led 31 laps and was a sitting duck for a blistering fast Keselowski. Joey would finish 8th after having engine issues.

After losing two races on pit road that weekend, Brad would handle business in the Sprint Cup race and pick up his second win of the season and fourth for Team Penske.

The Top 5 were: 1st Brad Keselowski, 2nd Kyle Busch, 3rd Ryan Newman, 4th Matt Kenseth, and 5th Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Winners all but guaranteed a spot in the 2014 Chase are as follows:

 Jimmie Johnson now leads all winners with three wins.

Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards and Brad Keselowski are now tied at two wins per driver.

Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin, and Jeff Gordon all have one win a piece.

There are now nine races left for drivers to get their first win of the season to get in or get as high in the points as possible to fill the remaining six spots.

The next race is the Coke Zero 400 from Daytona International Raceway. The race will air Saturday at 7:30 PM on TNT. The defending race winner is Jimmie Johnson.

Post Race Note: While celebrating in victory lane, Brad Keselowski cut his right hand on a champagne bottle. Now I should let everyone know when I call someone a dork it’s normally a good thing in my mind. With that said, I indeed feel Brad’s a dork. Picture below.

Pagenaud gets redemption in Race 2

Helio Castroneves would win the pole for Race 2 of the Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston. Helio would then lead 47 of the next 48 laps with only lap 31 being led by Simon Pagenaud. Then Castroneves would make contact with 11 of Sebastien Bourdais in turn 6 that would send Helio to a 21st pace finish.

The benefactor of this would be Simon Pagenaud would lead the next 42 laps uninterrupted and just dominate Race 2 from the second Helio went down and lead a total of 43 laps. After an extremely lack luster Race 1, Simon would bounce back for the victory.

The Top 5 were: 1st Simon Pagenaud, 2nd Mikhail Aleshin, 3rd Jack Hawksworth, 4th Charlie Kimball, and 5th Sebastien Bourdais.

Will Power added to his point lead thanks to Penske teammate Helio Castroneves’ accident. He now leads by 39 points.

The next race is the Pocono IndyCar 500 from Pocono Raceway. The race will air live on Sunday, July 6th at 1:00 PM on NBC Sports. The defending race winner is Scott Dixon. I HIGHLY recommend checking this race out! Last year’s race was a very, very good one.

Random Sports/Non Sports thought:

Sheesh, I didn’t realize how bad Brad whipped ‘em until I saw the final race rundown. 199 of 267 with only 3 leaders in the Cup race. Normally there is a back of the pack driver who leads a lap during pit stops. Not even that happened! Damn.

Have a question, suggestion or witty comment? Feel free to leave one below! Don’t want to do that? Then the fastest, easiest, and quickest way to interact with me is on Twitter, @tpierc07. I also am on Facebook, but that one you have to work for. Don’t do social media? Then feel free to e-mail me at!

Tyler Pierce